March '17

I got a new JOB!

Hello blogosphere, I wanted to let you know something that I now feel comfortable saying online and that is that I got a new job! Since September I have been working for Waterstones, which is a UK bookshop, and I have loved it there, especially the 50% off discount I get! But my time there was only meant to be temporary until I found a job that could support me properly and attempted to use my degree. Queue me finding a job doing marketing for a very important charity.

I start on the 3rd of April and I can’t wait to be able to throw myself into this role, I really want to try and give it my all. I have worked in marketing before, but I didn’t feel passionate about what I was doing, whereas this role will be helping towards saving lives so I am definitely more enthused about it!

I took my time in finding this role, I wanted to pick what was right for me and not just what would give me money. This earned me some grief from a few people around me, they thought I should just join the real world and get a full time job, as I had turned down a few offers. But I was determined to find the right role. I really wanted to continue working in the book industry, but it seemed my experience was not relevant enough – I think as well that I needed to realise it was okay to just have books as my hobby and not my career as well.

I have learnt that it is totally okay to wait for the right role and you shouldn’t accept something you aren’t happy with. You only get one life and you spend a lot of your time at work, so you should love what you do and let it fuel your passions. This job is not my dream, but then again, I don’t have a dream and this is as close as I could get to doing something I genuinly feel passionate about. So I am very excited to be able to join this charity and help, in my own way, to make the world a slightly better place.

4 thoughts on “I got a new JOB!

Leave a Reply

