Book Review · March '17

A Conjuring of Light, V.E. Schwab

ConjuringLight-UKCover
A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) 
by V.E. Schwab (2017)

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Adult, GLBT

Format: Paperback

Pages: 666

Reading Time: 24/02/17 – 07/03/17

Goodreads Bio

★★★★★

*Obviously this review is most likely going to contain spoilers for the first two books in this series, so if you haven’t read those yet then run away. Also whilst I’m here, this will also probably contain spoilers for ACOL too… so just to be safe, only read on if you have read ADSOM, AGOS and ACOL. Fin.*

The third and final book in this series was released in February and I didn’t waste anytime in starting it. The Shades of Magic series has been an enjoyable one for me, but not my favourite, however this book BLEW ME AWAY! I was so impressed with the world building and the characters and plot, I just couldn’t put it down. Usually with such a big fantasy book you expect some boring parts in the narrative to fill holes, but there were none in this story, it was non-stop excitement.

Faced with the shadowy threat of Osaron; Kell, Lila, Alucard and Rhy must fight to take back control of red London and they do a damn good job fighting! In the middle of reading this it was announced that there might be a movie adaptation of the series, so I was imagining every action scene as a film sequence. The Antari fight scenes in this book are so cool and immersive, I definitely felt like I was there watching them happen. We got to see a fair bit of action in A Gathering of Shadows, so it was good to see this carried over and continued.

These characters are definitely relentless in their goals and I was terrified for them the whole way through, because we know the Schwab loves a bit of evil writing. I was actually pleasantly surprised that there wasn’t more of a main character blood bath at the end of this book. Everything roughly went to plan, I mean I know we lost the King and Queen and a few other favoured characters, but the main foursome survived! Don’t get me wrong, I definitely felt my heart ripped out at some of the character deaths, but I was pleased that not all of my favourites copped it.

I think my favourite thing about this book was Rhy and Alucard! They are the best pairing and I felt sure one of them would die, especially after Alucard tried to be self sacrificial. So I am really glad they actually got their reunion and Rhy will have Alucard next to him as he rules over Red London. I was sad to see Kell and Lila parting ways from the city, but I am really glad that they did it together. I thought they were going their separate ways when Lila boarded her ship, but HOORAY, she was waiting for Kell! They’re relationship definitely developed in this book and I think they are definitely good for each other, I couldn’t picture them with anyone else.

I really couldn’t see how this was going to end as Osaron was so indestructible, so I am really glad it went in our main characters’ favour. Generally I thought this was a fantastic read, it offered the release that a fantasy should offer and allowed me to get totally involved in the world. You must read this series!

A Darker Shade of Magic REVIEW
A Gathering of Shadows REVIEW

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Conjuring of Light, V.E. Schwab

Leave a Reply

