February '17

Books you NEED to read!

In life there are a few books that you read and you just fall completely in love with them, books that you want to shout from the roof tops about. So welcome to my roof top…

1322673095beforeidiejennydownham1) Before I Die, Jenny Downham

I read this at about age 13, it deals with a young girl who is dying from cancer and she wants to tick some things off of her list before she goes. I found this book incredibly moving, thought provoking and interesting. I have always remembered this book and I hope to re-read it this year.

5580cc860bb34f93859136695f2c46fd2) Harry Potter, J.K. Rowling

Of course Harry Potter was going to make a feature, this book series has had more of an impact on my life than any other novel. Jo really means it when she says ‘Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.’ This series will stay with me forever for how much of a blanket it has been for me in life.

81j8sadl7jl3) Adrian Mole, Sue Townsend

Growing up, this series was a great accompaniment for me, Adrian himself starts the series off ages 13 ¾. It was funny, interesting and gave a male insight into growing up. I really enjoyed Sue’s writing and Adrian as a character, this was the perfect light humoured read to see me through puberty!

Yoon_9780553496680_jkt_all_r1.indd4) The Sun is also a Star, Nicola Yoon

This is a recent read for me, but one that has stuck with me and will continue to. You need to read this book, especially with everything going on in America at the moment. This teaches you the harsh realities of life, but in the most beautiful way.

91gsoca2ehl5) Caraval, Stephanie Garber

This is such a new release and it is already one of my favourite books. This book is like a dream on paper, in which I mean anything can happen and the world is just so enchanting and surprising. I loved this book and I can’t stop thinking about the magical imagery it brought to me.

Leave a Reply

