February '17

I was on the RADIO!

On Thursday the 2nd of February it was Harry Potter Book Night all over the UK in bookshops, meaning we were all hosting events to celebrate the 20th anniversary of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. I was tasked with the opportunity of hosting my bookshop’s event and I had such a good time.

Before the event opened we got a call from the local BBC radio station and they basically told us we were live in one minute. Queue my colleague passing me the phone and running ten miles down the road. So I did the interview, talking all about our event and Harry Potter.

I have been a Harry Potter fan since it was possible to be one, so to be able to talk live on sourcethe radio about it was such an amazing opportunity. I got asked how important I thought Harry Potter was to getting children into reading, a question I loved to answer. It felt so great to be able to answer these questions about a subject that is so close to my heart.

One of the main reasons I am so proud of myself for doing this is because a few years ago I wouldn’t event appear on camera or have my voice recorded. I used to love drama, but once I saw myself act in front of a camera I was immediately discouraged. I found myself cringe worthy to watch, I thought I was awful, so I stopped. Recently with the birth of my YouTube Channel I have felt so much more confident. I feel like now I can film a video and be an idiot on camera and it is totally fine. YouTube has done wonders for my self confidence, whilst I have never been shy in-front of people, I have always had a problem being on camera. Now though I feel happy to feature on screen as often as twice a week on my channel and I love it! I am so glad that I made this step, because it was stupid to be so afraid of presenting myself on a recording.

So thank you to BBC Wiltshire for featuring me on your radio station, it was a fantastic opportunity!

One thought on “I was on the RADIO!

Leave a Reply

