Book Review · February '17

Illuminae, Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

9781780748375_11
Illuminae 
by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (2015)

Genres: Sci-Fi, Young Adult

Format: Paperback

Pages: 599

Reading Time: 24/01/17 – 02/01/17

Goodreads Blurb

★★★

Let’s start off this review by saying that this was the most uniquely formatted book that I have ever read. From one page to the next there were different ways of telling the story being introduced, whether this was through an instant messenger chat, a radio conversation or from the perspective of the AI, AIDAN. This is the reason I first took an interest in reading this series, I wanted to see how easily I could read and absorb this format. The answer? Honestly it wasn’t the easiest way to read a book, but it was a very addictive way to read and I was often reading this book in big chunks at a time.

This is a sci-fi adventure that mainly follows Kady and Ezra, a pair of ex’s that are stuck on two escaping ships after their home was attacked. There is a huge sense of loss in this book, family members who will never be reunited, friends who are forever going to be apart. But all of this is swept under the rug, it is the way of life now and it is just accepted, a little too easily for my liking.

So not only are these ships under attack from a scary threat, but there’s also been an outbreak of some kind of virus. Don’t worry, these aren’t spoilers, I’m not telling you anything that isn’t on the back of the book. So we are met with a zombie type scenario here and it just makes matters worse. This is a gloomy book, if you were looking for a happy, space adventure then this probably isn’t quite right for you. There is not a moment where the characters, or the reader can relax, there is always a constant threat.

I think the writing style of this book was so interesting and perhaps requires a certain type of mind to truly enjoy it. There is a considerable lack of description as most of the text in this book is dialogue, despite this I have a perfect idea of what the ships look like in my head. In fact, the pages being so creatively displayed added to my imaginative experience and helped me create the ship’s image. This is a book with pictures, but in a very different sense.

My reason for giving this book three stars is that it was very bleak and didn’t seem to have much hope at all. I found myself falling in and out of wanting to read it because it didn’t make me feel good. I know that not all books can do this, but I like to get some positivity out of my reading. I will be reading the sequel, Gemina, as I am intrigued to see where the story goes, the end definitely left me wondering.

Let me know what you thought of this book if you’ve read it!

fullsizerender-2

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

