December '16

Weekend Recommendations #4

untitled-3

This weekend’s recommendations will be based on diverse reads in light of what seems to be a very hot topic among the YA community recently and rightfully so. These books are in no particular order and are books I personally enjoyed reading that contained diversity.

Let me know any books you’ve enjoyed of a similar nature, or what you think of my choices.

1)

Yoon_9780553496680_jkt_all_r1.inddThe Sun is also a Star, by Nicola Yoon

I will never stop praising this book, for the characters, the plot, the narrative. It is superb through and through and is most definitely a diverse book. Neither of the main characters are white, which is refreshing to see. Yoon writes a Jamaican girl and a Korean-American boy and she has definitely opened my eyes to new cultures.

If you want more information on this book then click HERE and you can read my full review, or if you don’t fancy reading my thoughts then you can listen to them by clicking HERE.

2)

91wex42edil

Six of Crows, by Leigh Bardugo

Being diverse doesn’t just mean having characters of colour, it could mean characters with disabilities, different sexual orientation and many more. I think Six of Crows does a pretty good job of covering most of these bases and in fact is surprisingly one of the first YA books I have read where the main character is disabled.

This book is a funny, exciting and fast paced heist with a very wide breadth of characters. There is a real sense of unity in this book, so is definitely a positive choice for diversity.

For my review of this book please click HERE.

3)

15216e65-f41a-4c7a-aea5-efc9fef2f471-1337x2040
Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer, Rick Riordan

Riordan has a lot of pressure on his head to delivery books that can be good role models for children, he has a voice that people will listen to. So I was very glad to read a book with such diverse characters, including characters of different religions and a character who is deaf. This made the reading experience much more varied and gave me a new topic to learn about.

As well as being diverse and innovative in the world of children’s literature, this series is very funny. So I would definitely advice picking it up, no matter what your age. If you want to read my review then you can click HERE.

As I was thinking about what books to include in this blog post I was thinking about mental health books. This isn’t an area I have read about much in YA and I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for books where characters have OCD? This is something I have struggled with since I was about fourteen, so would be interesting to read about a character with the same difficulties.

One thought on “Weekend Recommendations #4

Leave a Reply

