December '16

Top 2016 Book Releases

untitled-3

For today’s Blogmas post I will be sharing with you my top 5 2016 book releases. These little snippets will be spoiler free so don’t worry about skipping any for books you haven’t read. Of course I would recommend everything I have written about here and I would love to know what you think if you’ve read them yourself!

5) Flawed, by Cecelia Ahern

Flawed-coverMy favourite author brought out her first YA book this year and it was awesome! It followed the usual tropes of girl defying the system, but it was very addictive. This is a new series that I am excited to follow along with, I read this book super quickly and have been recommending it whenever I can. Cecelia Ahern’s writing style is always so lovely and this book is no exception.

 

4) The Sun is also a Star, by Nicola Yoon

Yoon_9780553496680_jkt_all_r1.inddThis book is unlike anything I have read before, the storyline is beautifully written and gives you an insight into so many different parts of the story. I love Yoon’s attention to detail and they way she lets you see how so many characters are feeling, it really opened my eyes to a new way of storytelling. This book is fantastically diverse and offers readers a perspective on immigration they may not be familiar with. Cannot recommend this book enough.

 

3) A Court of Mist and Fury, by Sarah J Maas

a_court_of_mist_and_fury_-_uk_cover
This has been the best Sarah J Maas book I have read this year, and trust me I’ve read a few. I love the fae world created in this series and I love how each revolves around a season or time of day. This sequel made me feel differently about certain characters and become very interested in their fates. I love this series and I am definitely excited for the next instalment in 2017. The ending for this one just left me desperate for more!

2) Lady Midnight, by Cassandra Clare

Lady-Midnight-cover-GalleyCatThis book was the first of Cassandra Clare’s I had read, I know it was a bit of a backwards place to start but I had seen so many people obsess over it and rightfully so! With a little knowledge of the Mortal Instruments series I devoured this book in a matter of days and have fallen in love with the world. It was a totally addictive read that I became obsessed with at the same time I was starting BookTube and getting more into my Bookstagram account, so I definitely credit it for my inspiration.

1) Cursed Child, by John Tiffany,  Jack Thorne and J K Rowling

cursed-child-coversThis is the first script book I have read and I couldn’t have been more excited about it’s release. To me this was another instalment in the Harry Potter series, nothing could be better and nothing was better. I have seen a lot of people dislike like this script and where it takes the characters and I can see why they would say this. But I just loved being able to immerse myself into the Harry Potter world yet again and revisit some old storylines. If you are a Potter fan then this is an unquestionable must read!

Leave a Reply

