December '16

Weekend Recommendations #3

untitled-3

This week my recommendations will be of particularly good retellings, so any book that has adapted a well known fairytale/story.

If you’ve read any of these then I’d love to know your opinions on them too!

1)

9781408857861

A Court of Thorns and Roses, by Sarah J Maas

This is a Beauty and the Beast retelling (loosely) and it is a superb series. Maas is only two books into this series, with the third one coming out next year. The first book was fantastic, it set up a magical fairy world and introduced some interesting characters, but the most recent book was my favourite. A Court of Mist and Fury turns what you currently know upside down and totally changes the dynamics of this series.

This is a must read for fans of faes, magic, beautifully worlds or attractive characters! This is by far my favourite series from Maas, beating Throne of Glass to the top of the table.

 

2)

Cinder_CoverCinder, by Marissa Meyer

Okay, so I’ve mentioned this book in my last recommendations blog too (sorry). But surely that just tells you how good it is! This is a Cinderella retelling (who’d have guessed), but Cinderella is a Cyborg. It is a very interesting version of the story and sticks closely to the original set up, which makes it fun when characters come in that you recognise.

This is the first in a series of similar retelling that all merge into the same world and story. I am only one book in, but I will definitely be reading the rest very soon. Others include Scarlet, Cress and Winter – can you guess which fairytales these are based off of?

3)

everland-pressEverland, by Wendy Spinale

This is of course a Peter Pan retelling, and the first I have read. It is set in a steampunk world where all of the adults have been killed off by a virus, so only children are left. When I was reading this I couldn’t decide whether I liked it or not, but on reflection I think the story was very clever and it was definitely a fun read.

My favourite thing about this story was seeing familiar characters and items being cleverly weaved into the plot. Spinale did a really good job of filtering in the Peter Pan features subtly into this and it made it very exciting to read. If you are a Peter Pan lover the definitely pop this one onto your list.

Leave a Reply

