Book Review

Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer, Rick Riordan

15216e65-f41a-4c7a-aea5-efc9fef2f471-1337x2040

Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan (2015)

Genres: Fantasy, Mythology, Young Adult

Format: Hardback

Pages: 486

Reading Time: 01/10/16 – 08/10/16

★★★★★

 

Goodreads Blurb:

Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers. 

One day, he’s tracked down by an uncle he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. His uncle tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god. 

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years. 

When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision. 

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Let me just start off this review by saying that this book was absolutely hilarious and had me laughing out loud and getting weird looks from my family. Rick Riordan is a superb writer, he has this fantastic way of imaging a story and characters and putting them onto a page. We see a wide range of Norse Gods here, and this is a world I am not all that familiar with, but now I want to learn more!

Riordan always writes diversely, which is very good to see in this current social climate. We have a muslim character, characters of colour and talking goats; can’t get much more diverse than that! I really love how badass Sam’s character is and how her hijab doubles as an item to camouflage them, it’s a very cool accessory and has perhaps shed a positive light onto something society can sometimes accuse of having negative connotations.

Whilst I’m talking about characters, one of my favourites had to be Thor. He was totally hilarious and I loved how modernised he had become, was a total contrast from the Marvel version of Thor that I have seen. Both are very funny, but in different ways. Riordan’s Thor was very ditsy and comical in his manner. It was hard to believe he’s such a powerful God and yet he is so unreliable as a character. I loved him being addicted to modern TV shows and cheered a little when I heard a few favourites mentioned.

I’m going off on multiple different lines of thought right now, but something else I loved about his was the lack of romance involved. At no point is romance central to the plot and that was refreshing to read. Don’t get me wrong, I like to hear about romance, it’s a nice feature of a story. But I felt like this book had so much going on in it that there was no need for love. Instead of this narrative structure, Riordan focused on the friendships in the book instead.

Magnus’ quest is something that brings together multiple characters to form a little family and I can’t wait to read more about them. I liked how Sam was distant from the group to start with, but as the novel progressed she became part of their clique.

I have so many positive things to say about this book – if you enjoyed the Percy Jackson series, or you like Norse mythology, or you like fantasy or you can read – READ THIS BOOK! Riordan will excited, entice and intrigue you. You will find new friends in this book for sure. I enjoyed that it was a Percy Jackson alternative for slightly older readers.

One thought on “Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer, Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

