Book Review · November '16

Weekend Recommendations #2

This week I am going to recommending the first book in a series to get stuck into. These are books I think are really fun and addictive and make a great start to a series.

If you’ve read any of these then I’d love to know your opinions on them too!

1)

15216e65-f41a-4c7a-aea5-efc9fef2f471-1337x2040

Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer, by Rick Riordan

This is my current read and it is so funny, Magnus is such a humorous and lovable character. Reading this book has reminded me of the feeling you get when you are reading a book because you love it, not to complete a goal or get it off your TBR.

If you want to be up to date with a Rick Riordan series, may I advice that it is this one, there are only two books out so far and I am very excited to get to the second one. For laughing out loud, character love and an all round good reading experience, look no further!

2)

Cinder_CoverCinder, by Marissa Meyer

This series is a sci-fi fairytale retelling which of course means I am going to love it! I will give any fairytale rewrites a go and this is one I am definitely glad I read. Meyer’s builds up a plot that pulls you in and hooks you to the characters, what more could you want!

Cinder follows the story of Cinderella, but others in the series incorporate different fairytale characters that I am excited to read about! I haven’t yet finished this series, and have only just bought the rest, but now they are on my shelf, I have no doubt I will be getting round to them fairly quickly. For exciting and magical adventures read this series!

3)

61YJzE2d8QL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_A Darker Shade of Magic, by Victoria Schwab

Firstly, Victoria is just amazing, she is such a lovely lady and an inspiring writer. I am so happy that I got a chance to meet her a few months ago and get some tips from her. This series totally pulled me into a nostalgic phase for books I used to read as a child. This novel is all about travelling between alternate realities of London and magic and friendships and it is just great!

I loved the different magical elements of this book, there are some really cool features to read about that leave you wondering what will come next. If you want to get stuck into a fantasy that is written by a creative, world-building author then this is one for you!

Leave a Reply

