Book Review

Empire of Storms, Sarah J Maas

empire-of-thrones-uk.jpgEmpire of Storms by Sarah J Maas (2016) (Throne of Glass, #5)

Genres: Fantasy, YA, Romance

Format: Paperback

Pages: 693

Reading Time: 06/10/16 – 09/10/16

★★★★☆

 

Empire of Storms is the most recent novel in the Throne of Glass series, at book number five I was expecting some action! For me this series has been lacking something, it has been slow and stretched out and I really fell out of love with is through Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire. Queue Empire of Storms (and of course Queen of Shadows) coming in and sparking my interest in this series back up.

*Spoilers will be happening from now onwards*

Sarah J Maas is very much a Queen in the YA community, she writes worlds set around faes, magic and mates. Both series she writes are set in this similar world, and I have to say that I prefer the ACOTAR series, but it seems I have now grown to love the Throne of Glass series too through Empire of Storms.

This fifth instalment brings back all of our favourite characters bar one, Chaol, who has been badly injured in Queen of Shadows and is sitting our Empire of Storms to recover. To start with I really liked Chaol, but as the series progress he started to get on my nerves, so for me it wasn’t the end of the world that he wasn’t present. I’ve felt my love for Aedion grow a lot in this book and I think I speak for a lot of readers when I say that Aedion and Lysandra needs to happen! When she was recovering in dragon form and he told her he would marry her, I swooned, she swooned, we all swooned.

I love that we get a different side to Manon, she was already a bad ass, but now we get to see a new part of her. She is loyal as we know and she has a life debt to Aelin that she makes it her mission to fulfil. And in this we see the two sides come together, the witches and Aelin’s court, and this is a paring I love! When the Thirteen swoop in in the final battle I gave a little cheer. I love heroic moments and Maas totally changed my opinion of them, they are loyal and true and they have come for Manon. I love how she has become a figure for them to look up to in a different way and how she has become somewhat of a mother figure to Elide.
Also can we just discuss Dorian and Manon?! What is this and where did it come from? He is a total flirt, she is a total badass and somehow they have come together and I love it. They don’t suit, but at the same time they do, they are powerhouses not to be reckoned with and yet they have both messed with each other and lived to tell the tale. I think Manon will be good for Dorian, she’ll toughen him up a bit and really get him over Aelin. I look forward to seeing more of them!

This book ends with a cliffhanger and of course we don’t get the next one for a year. So during the huge fight scene Aelin and Manon bugger off into a mirror to learn more about the Wrydkeys and why this is all happening to them. In the meantime everyone is attacking everyone and it seems like they are a bit outnumbered. See paragraph about the Thirteen for what happens next. This was where the majority of the action came from for this book and it wasn’t something we thought we were leading towards. Maeve is not someone I thought was such a huge threat in the grand scheme of things, but hey I guess she is! Now she is sailing into the distance with Aelin in a box and the others left to sort out what to do.

Lastly in this review that seems to have no order, I want to touch on Rowan and Aelin. Obviously something was going to happen between the two of them and boy did it happen! Sarah J Maas likes to do rather explicit foreplay and then sex scenes of which there was one or two in Empire of Storms. I’m not nuts about Rowan, but he certainly seemed to like Aelin, so I guess he can stay! And of course the two secretly got married so now he has his official part to play in her court. But as Rowan is of the protective nature, he is I assume, not going to let Aelin go without fighting for her.

Okay that’s all for my review, sorry it has been a bit all over the place. I’m looking forward to the next book coming out, but for now I think my hopes are more realistically set on ACOTAR #3.

Leave a Reply

