Book Review

Outlander, Diana Gabaldon

9781419381010_l
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon  (1991)

Genres: Historical, Romance, Fantasy

Format: Audible Audiobook

Listening Time: 32 hours 43 minutes

Reading Time: 17/06/16 – 06/10/16

★★★☆☆ (3 ½)

Outlander has certainly taken me a long time to get through, but this morning I finally finished it! Encouraged by fellow readers to download this on audible, I was expecting a slow paced historical fiction and that is what I got. Personally I was hoping for some variation in the story, a more investigative play on the time travel element; but alas I was left listening to a story that really just followed an English woman through the Scottish Highlands.

At times, probably because this was an audiobook, I found this hard to follow and I felt like I kept missing parts. I really enjoyed the narration and this definitely aided my listening experience, but the story itself just seemed to float about a bit. One moment I was gripped with the action and suspense for my favourite characters, but the next everything had calmed down with no warning.

It wasn’t until about twenty hours into this audiobook that I really started to enjoy it. It was my companion for long drives (of which I do a lot of) and that was how I managed to get through a good chunk of it. The later part of the novel saw more fights, more development in the plot and a bit more information into the time travel element. The time travel was something I desperately wanted more from, I wanted it to be questioned and investigated, I wanted more characters to become involved with it – but it seems this is a storyline that will be strung out through the eight book series.

Gabaldon definitely knows how to write some good sex scenes though, weaving erotic moments in and out of these chapters. Her descriptions of these scenes were certainly more than I expected, but I was pleased that she seemed to push the boundaries of what I am used to in literature like this. It was refreshing to see the want in the characters and not just the sex, there was a build up and a decline afterwards. Clearly Gabaldon is a brilliant writer, she writes with a passion that is evident throughout this novel, but this book just wasn’t for me.

Will I be downloading the next one in the series? Not in a hurry. Whilst I have recommended this book to people, it is not the genre for me. If you are into historical fiction and prefer chunky books that really focus on the setting and characters and not so much the plot development, then this is for you. But for me, it lacked the pace and progression I was hoping for. I think if I had been reading this rather than listening to it, I would have put it down quite a while ago.

 

 

Leave a Reply

