Book Review

The Girl of Ink and Stars, Kiran Millwood Hargrave

27973757

The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave (2016)

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Adventure

Format: Paperback

Pages: 228

Reading Time: 12/09/16 – 15/09/16

★★★☆☆ 3 ½

 

The Girl of Ink and Stars is a beautifully designed little novel. The pages are decorated like a map and the book is littered with similar markings throughout, this made for a lovely visual experience whilst reading. This being a very short book meant that the story wasn’t the most complicated and did at times feel rushed. But overall this book presented me with a good reading experience and is one that I would recommend.

(I’m sat in a Bookshop Cafe writing this, I feel like a proper writer, even though I’m only writing a book review)

So this book is all about an isolated island that is being ruled by somebody that no one likes. And of course there is some danger woven in, a young girl has been killed and Isabella (our protagonist) finds herself caught up in a rescue mission as her best friend goes missing trying to find the killer. This book involves some danger and some excitement as our characters battle against strange creatures and discover secrets that should never have been known.

I enjoyed the fast paced action in this novel, I find if an action scene is drawn out too much then it can quickly become boring. However equally I found at times the narrative to move around too quickly and move on when perhaps the previous description wasn’t quite complete. There were a few times I found myself wondering how we got here. But I would advice this book to others, it is a fun and sweet little story about friendship, adventures and just a little bit of magic!

Leave a Reply

