Book Review

Heir of Fire, Sarah J Maas

heir-of-fire

Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas (2014)

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Format: Paperback

Pages: 562

Reading Time: 30/08/16 – 08/09/1

★★☆☆☆ (2 ½)

 

Book number three in the Throne of Glass series and I am still now blown away! I read Throne of Glass a few months ago and I have been attempting to read the rest of the series before the release of Empire of Storms, so that I could join in with the hype. I definitely failed this task and I think this is mainly down to these books just not grabbing me enough. For me, a good book is jam packed with action that means you don’t want to put the book down and when you do you can’t stop think about it. OR a book is soppy and sweet and just a good fun story to enjoy. I can say that so far, whilst there has been action in this series, it has achieved neither of these specifications.

Heir of Fire is a fairly large instalment in the series, and as I have found with other Sarah J Maas books nothing really gets exciting until the end of the book. This was a book I had to bulk read to get through, because coming into it in little ten minute slots wasn’t enough to get me involved in the story. This may have been down to the structure of the narrative, jumping between three different character’s story lines was interesting, but also a bit annoying. As always, you adjust to reading the story of one character and then the chapter changes and you are following someone else. I find this is a really distracting way of reading and I can never really get into the book.

Personally I really enjoyed Manon’s story and I was very keen for the writing to go back to following her. She was an intriguing new character and I am interested to see how she gets involved with the rest of the plot. It is partly for this reason that the sequel Queen of Shadows interests me, but also because I feel like at three books in, I need to see how this saga concludes. I think I may be going off the public rating too much, but people are saying Queen of Shadows and now Empire of Storms are action packed and full of suspense. I need this series to get better, I need it to get me to the point where I can’t put it down.

I am seeing a lot of similar plot devices used in this series as is used in Sarah J Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses series, which can make the story kind of predictable, having read the other series first. My only flaw with the YA genre in-fact is how the story can become fairly obvious, particularly when it comes to the romantic involvement. So perhaps some originality needs to be installed into this series?

I didn’t entirely hate this book! I did find myself getting worried that it was going to send me into a reading slump though, but it didn’t! I think perhaps my mistake was trying to read this series so quickly and so close together. I am now giving myself a break from it and am reading Eleanor & Park, which in total contrast is just what I needed!

For my review on the first novel in this series, Throne of Glass, click here.

Leave a Reply

