Book Review

A Court of Mist and Fury, Sarah J Maas

a_court_of_mist_and_fury_-_uk_cover

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas (2016)

Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult

Format: Paperback

Pages: 640

Reading Time: 06/08/16 – 14/08/16

★★★★☆

 

*This review contains spoilers, if you have not read this book or its predecessor then do not read any further!*

This novel is the follow up to the series starting with A Court of Thorns and Roses, a story about a brave human who tries to save the man she loves and in doing so, looses herself. In ACOTAR we are met with a strong Feyre, determined to do what she can to save the man she loves and his people. But in this new novel, born again as a high fae, our beloved Feyre has gone soft on us. Oppressed by her fiancé, she is slowly drained of her passion and her spark, aka the things the reader loved about her. Whilst Feyre may now be a physically stronger being, mentally she has become rather an annoyance. I may be alone in thinking this, but I found Feyre to become dependant and unable to look after herself, despite her protests – this was not however the case throughout the whole novel, as anyone who has read it will know.

With our beloved Feyre feeling dejected by Tamlin, we start to see Rhysand becoming a lot more apparent, and more welcomely so. Channeling his inner Slytherin to those who do not know him, deep down Rhys has the blood of a Gryffindor, he is fiercely loyal to those close to him and within his court. This story allows the reader to see Rhys as a protagonist this time round and with this he becomes all the more sexy! I love the relationship between Rhysand and Feyre, from the off they had such flirtatious banter and never seemed get along, but this is exactly what makes them perfect. It is clear that Rhys feels deeply for those he cares about, and Feyre is included in that circle. Unfortunately I saw a spoiler indicating Feyre would be Rhys’ mate before I started this book, so I was expecting it – but I love this notion. The idea that you could be with someone in such an intimate way, reminds me of imprinting in Twilight, but seems so much deeper. Of course this made their more intimate scenes all the more passionate and rather engaging, much more so than a bit of Fifty Shades!

That being said, I worry that the ‘mate’ bond could become cliche and overused, Lucien and Elaine form this bond at the end of the novel and this is left open to explore in the sequel. I love this idea, but I hope it doesn’t become standard that every character will find their mate, as nice for them as that would be. I enjoy that the romance is not what guides this story, as is the very point. Feyre hated being constrained by Tamlin, Rhys offers her freedom and love, so the romance does not need to restrain her as a heroin. But I would like to congratulate Sarah J Maas on creating a male character that I actually fancy, I don’t think that has happened in a book for a long time, I would definitely like a little Rhysand coming my way!

This is an evidently long book and my only criticism of this length was that it was not used to the best advantage. The first two thirds of the book have action jammed into them, but also lot of filler. I know this is all needed for character building and setting the moment, understanding what is to come etc – but I felt like the build up to what we were waiting for was written about more than the actual climactic point. I would have liked to read more about the battles and the end scene where so much is happening could have definitely been made longer, I would have loved to read more about that! That is my only flaw and the reason this is not receiving my rare five stars!

It is safe to say that I really enjoyed this read and I am very exciting for the sequel, although who knows when I will be able to get my hands on that! For know I think I will satisfy my fix by buying the rest of Sarah J Maas’ other series, the Throne of Glass series.

One thought on “A Court of Mist and Fury, Sarah J Maas

Leave a Reply

