Book Review

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, Rick Riordan

The Lightning Thief - Blue

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan (2006)

Genres:
 Fantasy, Adventure, Young Adult

Format: Paperback

Pages: 375

Reading Time: 26/06/16 – 30/06/16

★★☆☆☆ (2 ½)

 

The Percy Jackson series follows a young boy as he learns to deal with his fate, being a half-blood, which means he is half human and half God! This series is aimed at children, the main characters starting off as being around twelve. But I definitely still enjoyed the story line and will be continuing to read the series.

I had seen the film before reading this book, so I knew roughly how the story went. Although the journey to getting to the end point was different, the conclusions were still the same. Did watching the film first change my experience of the book? Definitely! I had the actors from the films in my head, who are a lot older than the characters in the books, so that totally changed my reading experience, despite knowing they were only meant to be twelve.

The main three characters relationships in the book was very similar to the film, but I really enjoyed the growth they went through and how they become more comfortable with each other. I look forward to being able to explore more of their developments later in the series.

I love Greek Mythology and I love books with magical powers, so this was of course right up my street. I am kicking myself for not reading this series earlier in my life, because I think I would have enjoyed it more. The writing style is much more simply than I am used to, but that is because I am not the target audience age! I could do with an adult adaptation of these books, perhaps a follow up novel like we have seen in the Harry Potter series with the Cursed Child release!

I feel like I can’t critique this book as easily, because it is a simple writing style and I had already formed part of my opinion on the story through watching the film. I definitely do not like watching the film version first, and am now trying to always read the book first!

Leave a Reply

