Book Review

A Thousand Pieces of You, Claudia Gray

a-thousand-pieces-of-you

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray (2014)

Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance

Format: Kindle

Pages: 360

Reading Time: 16/07/16 – 20/07/16

★★★☆☆

 

I think I can say that I have never read a book like this before. The basic idea is Marguerite’s dad is killed and she must jump through to different dimensions to track down his murderer, using a device called a Firebird that her parents have created. The blurb says that it is like a cross between Orphan Black and Cloud Atlas, well I have seen neither of these, so to me this kind of reminded me of the film Jumper. 

The ability to be able to jump between dimensions was such an interesting thing to explore and Gray writes it very well. I saw each world so vividly and thought they were all so creative and different. I found it interesting that some of the worlds only had a little change, but it still made a big difference for Marguerite. It was exciting to see what she would stumble upon next and how this world would be different from ours.

The character developments in this book were great! This is a spoiler free review so I won’t give away anything, but wow. The relationships that are built and alliances that are formed are awesome. With an ever changing setting you need characters you can understand and know and I really loved Marguerite, she was so interesting and passionate. And the men in this book too! I love them all basically, even though you’re not meant to love some of the characters.

I am desperate to read the sequel to this book and will definitely be buying it soon!

 

One thought on “A Thousand Pieces of You, Claudia Gray

  1. I have both and I have started A Thought of You, I got them because I loved the book art it’s so pretty and intriguing. The story is interesting enough but I’ve been too busy to read it sigh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

