Book Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses, Sarah J Maas

9781408857861

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas (2015)

Genres: YA, Fantasy, Magic, Romance, Retellings

Format: Paperback

Pages: 416

Reading Time: 19/06/16 – 23/06/16

★★★★☆

 

 

Clearly I went on a Sarah J Maas readathon this month, because I read this right after Throne of Glass and when I finish my current read I will be reading A Court of Mist and Fury. A Court of Thorns and Roses is a loose retelling of the popular Beauty and the Beast fairytale. I like a good retelling so this was right up my street and I continued to really enjoy the story as I got stuck into it.

Whilst I still found Sarah J Maas’ writing jumpy in its narrative and very fast paced, I really like her ability to create a new world. There was so many different types of fairies in this world to find out about and I love knowing what powers each of them posses. Reading about fairies is really interesting, because as a child, fairies are magical, tiny and sweet – but now in a the world of adult fairies, we see that in-fact they are sneaky, hated and have no understanding of consequences. Its really interesting that these are the two types of fairies we are presented with in literature, and how feminine they seem to be when we are younger. But now we see fairy men and how gorgeous they are described to be, such as Tamlin and Rhysand. I think I would like myself a nice, protecting fae.

This story follows Feyre, who has killed a fairy and must pay the price with her own life. She is taken to live in the Spring Court with Tamlin, really it sounds like she got quite a good deal. She gets to live out her days in a very lavish building, with gardens, art supplies, food and a fae admirer. But of course, things cannot stay this way, ‘as Feyre’s feelings for Tamlin begin to burn through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows’. No spoilers, this is all on the blurb!’ Feyre must fight to protect what she cares about and we will go along on the journey with her.

Sarah J Maas created a really thrilling and exciting narrative, I couldn’t put this book down at times and that is something I don’t say often. If you want to read something that will grip you from the word go, make you fall in love with the characters and entice you into a beautiful and magical world, then read this book!

Let me know what you thought of this book in the comments and you can always find my on my Vlog account on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

