Book Review

Lady Midnight, Cassandra Clare

Lady-Midnight-cover-GalleyCat


Lady Midnight 
by Cassandra Clare (2016)

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Mystery

Format: Paperback

Pages: 668

Reading Time: 08/06/16 – 12/06/16

★★★★★

 

Lady Midnight was my first Cassandra Clare novel and I was warned not to read it before reading The Mortal Instruments series; I am glad I ignored these warnings because this book was absolutely fantastic! This is possibly the biggest book I have read and I managed to complete it within four days; this is entirely down to how engaging Cassandra Clare is as a writer. I can honestly say that not once was I bored by this novel, I was totally captivated in the characters throughout and wanted to follow them on their journeys.

The third person narrative is always following a different main character. This makes it really interesting to get to know all of the different characters in the book. Mainly we follow either Emma or her parabatai Julian; Emma is your typical pretty, smart and active female heroin and Julian is the ‘good guy’ who has been left to look after his brothers and sisters. I loved the diversity presented in Julian’s brothers and sisters; each of them had their own quirks and personalities, I think my favourite was Ty.

Like I said, this is my first Cassandra Clare book and whilst this made no difference to my enjoyment of the book, I did find myself having to catch up some of the terminology. I committed book sin by watching the City of Bones film before having read the book series, so I was aware vaguely of the world of Shadowhunters, Mundanes, vampires etc and the ability of the runes. This massively helped me in figuring out some of the background information, but I think even without this knowledge I would have been able to figure things out. Worth noting though, that this book did give me some spoilers for the Mortal Instrument series, but I think it was stuff that had slowly been hinted to me online anyway.

* Please be advised that from this point on, this review does contain spoilers *

 

It was really great to get stuck into such a big book, knowing that the story wasn’t going to end as soon as I got into it. Saying that, I did still race through reading this. When it got to the last 50 pages I wasn’t sure where the story was going to go, it seemed to resolve and everything was normal and on its way to a conclusion. However I was pleased to see the return to a storyline that had been present at the beginning of the book, featuring Kit and his abilities. This surprised me in the turn it took in the narrative and I was excited to read in about who Kit was in the grand scheme of things and how he was involved with the other characters.

Whilst I am on the spoiler front, can we talk about the some what more racy parts of the book? I know there were no fifty shades moments, so when I say racy I mean some heavy kissing and a definite implication of sex. These characters all seem to have the most amazing and mind blowing kisses with each other, the world stops and lightening connects them together in this moment. Whilst this is most definitely not the most realistic interpretation, it does make for quite good reading. I really enjoyed seeing the love stories develope within this and not knowing who was going to end up with who. And the ending with Julian and Emma! Cassandra Clare you are cruel!!

If anyone is in any form of hesitation to read this book then I urge you, go read it – it will most definitely entertain you!

2 thoughts on “Lady Midnight, Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

