Book Review

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, Claire North

20706317

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North (2014)

Genres: Science Fiction, Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Adult

Format: Paperback

Pages: 405

Reading Time: 04/06/16 – 08/06/16

★★★☆☆

 

An interesting concept, you live your life and then when you die, you are born again in the same year and under the same circumstances and you remember your previous lives. This is what happens to Harry August and has been idea that has captivated me over this week. I am going through a weird adjustment period at the moment and it is interesting to think in this fantasy setting if Harry wanted to be back in his childhood without responsibility, he could easily make it possible.

This novel follows Harry on a mission to find out why the world is ending sooner that it should be. Along the way he meets many interesting people that help his adventures progress. It is a really interesting story to explore and a lot is happening throughout the plot; however I felt at times I was rushing through it because it was fairly heavy in the description. I enjoy a book with lots of speech to progress the narrative, I find that I tend to imagine the setting however I want to, despite what the description says sometimes.

This is the first novel by Claire North I have read and I would be interested to read another, based on her ability to be able to create such a fascinating concept. Whilst this book lost me a little in the middle, I have been recommending it to people that want to read something that will make you think!

One thought on “The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, Claire North

  1. I love this book! 💜

    I recently discovered another book from this author. I immediately added it on my TBR. It’s called: Sudden Appearance of Hope.
    It has a very intriguing premise.👍

    Like

Leave a Reply

