June '16

NY Times By The Book Tag

TheLittleBookOwl tagged me to do the ‘New York Times By The Book Tag’ – I will try to give this a go on my Booktube account too if you didn’t want to read my responses! 

1. What book is on your nightstand now?

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare and I am loving it! I am just over 400 pages in, and having started it three days ago and working full time – I think that is pretty impressive. It is the first Cassandra Clare book I have read and I think it is awesome! I would definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a good fantasy to get stuck into.

2. What was the last truly great book that you read?

I really enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins and Flawed by Cecelia Ahern. I read them both super quickly and enjoyed devouring their awesomeness. Flawed got me back into YA dystopian style books and Anna and the French Kiss made me feel relaxed and happy in a stressful time – so whilst they may not be classics, to me they were truly great for the way that they made me feel.

3. If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

I would love to meet J K Rowling, as I am sure any Harry Potter fan would, I want to know the secrets and quirks to the world she created. She seems to be such an inspirational woman and I would love to actually be able to chat with her in an informal setting and really pick her brains.

4. What books might we be surprised to find on your shelves? 

I am not usually a fan of reading classic books, but both on my actual bookshelf and my kindle bookshelf I have got a collection of classics. Most of these are from studies at school, but some of them I still really enjoyed reading. I have only read the start of Northanger Abbey but I quite enjoyed the characters and it captivated me — although apparently not enough to want to finish it.

5. How do you organize your personal library?

In my dreams: Giant bookshelves that cover the corners and walls of my room, stacked in a beautiful rainbow theme according to genre. Funkos that match the colours scattered in relevant places, books marks in pots around the free space, ready for me to choose at will.

Reality: Two of my very small and square shelves are rainbow shelves and I love them! The others are themed by classics, Harry Potter and Dystopian/Fantasy. I have really small and awkwardly shaped shelves and the bottom two rows are in-front of my bed, so they are really hard to reach. I do what I can with the space though and I will moving soon, so I can buy bigger shelves!

6. What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet? Anything you feel embarrased never to have read?

There are definitely a few answers to this question. Mainly Lord of the Rings and The Mortal Instruments series. Both of these sound like great stories, and I know that Lord of the Rings is an amazing trilogy of films, so I expect great things from the books. The Mortal Instruments are going to be coming to my bookshelf very, very soon once I finish Lady Midnight. I love Cassandra Clare’s writing and I am ashamed to say that I have not read any of her books before three days ago.

7. Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you were supposed to like but didnt? Do you remember the last book you put down without finishing?

Everyone is going to hate me for this… but I really didn’t like Me Before You. I listened to it on audiobook and I feel like this may be part of the reason for my disliking of it, because the narrator’s voice was so annoying and made Louisa sound like even more of an idiot. I have not seen a single bad review on Booktube for this book so I think I must be alone in this view, maybe I would have cried if I read the book rather than listened to it? But we will never know!

8. What kinds of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I am definitely drawn to fantasy, they create such a magical world that I can totally get lost into – as is the very point of a book. Recently I have been rediscovering my love of this genre, I kind of veered towards romance, chick lit type books for a while because they were easily – but this also meant that they were predictable and boring. Fantasy is always there to welcome me home whenever I have a genre break.

9. If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be? 

Before I Die, its a book I have not read for years, but I remember falling in love with it when I was younger. It is about a girl who is dying and she writes a list of things she wants to do before she dies, it follows her going on the journey to achieve everything she wants to do. It definitely pulled right at my heart strings and I cried, a lot, then I wrote a review and cried a bit more. I read this when I was about 13 and I can still remember all of this, so it definitely made an impact.

10. What do you plan to read next?

If it arrives in time I am hoping to read A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Mass. I have ordered this novel and it’s sequel A Court of Mist and Fury from book depository and I am very excited for them to arrive! Also on my TBR list is Anne Frank’s Diary, Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief, Passenger and Throne of Glass.

 

I’ve really enjoyed answering these questions and it’s a fun topic for a blog! I tag anyone who wants to take part in this challenge. 

Leave a Reply

