Book Review

Flawed, Cecelia Ahern

Flawed-cover

Flawed by Cecelia Ahern (2016)

Genres: Young Adult, Dystopian, Fantasy

Format: Paperback

Pages: 402

Reading Time: 13/04/16 – 19/04/16

★★★★★

 

Flawed is Cecelia Ahern’s YA debut and she most definitely rocked it! I have been a massive fan of her novels since I read Where Rainbows End many, many years ago and she continues to draw me in with her mix of fantasy and romance. I have only started reading young adult books recently, I had moved onto the adult genre quite a while ago, but truthfully I think YA novels offer more interesting and exciting storylines. This was definitely the case with Flawed, from the first page I was hooked to the story – it is the very definition of a page-turner.

Flawed follows Celestine and her accidental revolution, and in her we find our novel’s hero. However, she is not the obvious hero that we seek in this new wave of empowering female leads for the YA genre. Instead, she is someone who originally I did not like very much and really I am still not sure if I do like her. But I like what she is fighting for; this novel follows the idea that society marks you as flawed if you do not fit within the unspoken rules. If you are seen to be ‘flawed’ you are branded with a burnt F on your skin, the location of which correlates with the flaw you have displayed. I haven’t done the idea justice in my description, but you get the premise. This book had me nearly yelling at the pages for the stupid decision and rules – for me, this is a good trait that the novel allowed me get so lost within it.

I read this book very quickly, it has an easy style to follow that definitely does not let you just read one more chapter. My family commented on how I was practically walking around with my nose buried in this book. If you are looking for a book that will pull you in and not let you go, then this is one for you. When I first bought this novel I looked at some of the reviews on Goodreads and I was surprised to see so many negative ones filling up the top spots. People were commenting on how boring this novel was and I can honestly say that I did not for one moment feel bored when taking this journey. The storyline is simple and easy to follow, but the action and adventure within it means you are constantly excited to read more. In fact, I actually had to put this book down one evening before bed, because it was making me feel so tense I thought I would not be able to sleep properly.

I am hoping this review encourages more of you to read Flawed, it is a truly fantastic and captivating novel that people of any age should experience. I have learnt to ignore the category of young adult because a story is a story no matter what age it is targeted for. So go to Waterstones (or wherever you buy your books from) and pick up a copy of this amazing genre debut from Cecelia Ahern.

 

One thought on “Flawed, Cecelia Ahern

Leave a Reply

