Book Review

The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern

the-night-circus-uk1

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (2011)

Genres: Fantasy, Romance

Format: Paperback

Pages: 387

Reading Time: 26/03/16 – 13/04/16

★★★★☆ (4 ½)

 

‘The circus arrives without warning.

No announcements precede it, no paper notices plastered on lampposts and billboards.

It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.’

Now that’s what a blurb should be, right? Not only did it make me want to read The Night Circus, but it made me want to visit it as well. This is a novel I have wanted to read since the beginning of the year, I cannot scroll down on my Instagram feed every day without seeing someone feature this book in a post. Popular opinion has it, this was promised to be an enchanting story that would pull me along into new worlds and fantasy environments. Did it deliver? Judging from my four and a half star rating, yes, yes it did.

On first impressions, I was concerned that this novel would confuse me, each chapter fitted into a different point in the story. Initially, I didn’t know where I was in the story and had to flick back to check other chapters that matched the dates. However, once you master the story, the characters and the general goings on, it is very easy to pick up at which point in the story you are. This actually made for an interesting structure to read, I enjoyed the slightly different format and it made sure that the book was exciting and engaging.

Ultimately this book is about the circus and the people in it. Erin Morgenstern’s amazing descriptions have me desperate to visit this circus that only appears at night. I want to take a stroll through the tents and get lost in the magic of it all. Morgenstern uses just the right amount of description to engage, but not bore, the reader. She paints a scene that I am sure we would all want to step into. Surprisingly this book was turned down thirty times before a publisher finally picked it up and now I am sure that they are glad they did.

This book pulled me out of my reading slump and made me excited for the fantasy world it could bring me. This is a spoiler-free review, so I don’t want to talk at all about the characters because I would give away little details that are key to the plot. But please, if you haven’t already, go and pick up a copy of this book. It will amaze, inspire and enchant you from the very first page.

 

Leave a Reply

