Book Review

A Certain Slant of Light, Laura Whitcomb

289601

A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb (2005)

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal

Format: Paperback

Pages: 282

Reading Time: 22/02/16 – 26/02/16

★★★☆☆ (3½)

 

This book has been on my wishlist for a long time and I finally received it as a gift for Christmas last year. At 282 pages I knew this would be a quick read for me, it’s always good to have some books reserved for when you want to read a shorter story in my opinion. This book was a floppy and flimsy one too, which I loved – I really enjoy the feel of a floppy book as I read, gives potential for more reading positions too.

After reading a sequence of action packed books I found the pace of this novel to be a lot slower. Whitcomb writes in a way that draws the reader in with description and detail; in my opinion there was just the right amount of balance between the descriptions and the dialogue. I am always weary of reading a book with too much description and elaboration of detail, it tends to bore me if there is not any action or focus on progression in the narrative. Not to say that I don’t enjoy a scene being set, because of course I do. There was a lot more focus on the characters in this book than the setting in fact. Helen and James are the center of the story and nothing dissuades from this; their relationship is refreshing – they don’t argue or fall out, they just have the struggle of being together.

Whitcomb’s description of Helen’s experiences is interesting, it highlights the things which we take for granted. This made me appreciate this simple style of writing; as the climatic point is very much a constant issue throughout the whole novel as opposed to something that is built up to. Sometimes it is nice to read a book that isn’t dealing with a world at peril or a teenage girl who must set out new expectations for society. This is a simple love story and that is its selling point.

After reading this I found myself inspired to write. It is a refreshing break for anyone who has read a lot of heavier books recently, or for anyone who would like to explore a simple and beautiful look on the world.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

