Book Review

Allegiant, Veronica Roth

All

Allegiant by Veronica Roth (2013)

Genres: Dystopian, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Format: Paperback

Pages: 526

Reading Time: 15/02/16 – 22/02/16

★★★☆☆ (more like 2½ )

 

Allegiant is Veronica Roth’s third and final novel in the Divergent series and I have to say that it is my least favourite of the trilogy. I am writing this a few hours after finishing, so maybe with some reflection I will change my mind. Overall though, I found the story to be average and built up to something that never really ended up happening.

However, my main criticism of this novel is the relationship between Four and Tris. I read the first two books two years ago and really enjoyed them, tearing through their action-packed stories with heroic characters. However, I found myself getting constantly annoyed with how pathetic these main characters were behaving. Suddenly Tris becomes jealous and Four becomes protective and overbearing and there we have the conventions of a stereotypical relationship. I got irritated by the repetition of their descriptions and how similar their intimate encounters were.

Tris and Four aside, the other characters seem to have little to do that was pivotal to the story and Christina (who has usually been my favourite) wasn’t utilised enough as a character I thought. The ending seemed really rushed and not explored or resolved enough; with specific mention only to the main characters and not the whole society that they were fighting to save.

I would say read this as a conclusion to the story because I am sure the films will ruin it even further, but overall I was disappointed with the writing and narrative.

Leave a Reply

