Book Review

Ready Player One, Ernest Cline

Ready-Player-One-Paperback-Cover

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (2011)

Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy

Format: Paperback

Pages: 374

Reading Time: 05/02/16 – 14/02/16

★★★★★

 

Ernest Cline’s first novel, Ready Player One, contained everything you would expect from a well-renowned author who has been having their work published for years. Cline’s technique of switching between a slower paced narrative that is more informative to a backstory and then a fast paced action scene worked perfectly to both engage and excite me. At not point during this novel was I ever bored – something I think is a challenge to say with any read.

I found myself immersed in a world of Virtual Reality, something I have never really thought too much into before. I play video games, but I am not dedicated to the old style 80’s games like Wade is in this novel. But this didn’t matter, the passion that Wade has for these games is transferred right through to the reader, again another trait for a book that is always a good thing.

This exciting world has twists and turns, it deals with current issues as well as future ones; whilst it is a dystopian setting this is not the focal point for the book. I am a bit sick of doom and gloom, the world is reduced to rubbish, kind of books – so I was glad this one offered a distraction from within this theme.

I wanted to make this a spoiler-free review, so I won’t be saying too much else about this novel. But if you are a gamer, an 80’s lover or you just want a truly immersive world then read Ready Player One.

 

Additional Note – On reflection about a month after reading this book I think it is definitely one of my favourite books. I borrowed my copy from a friend and now I may have to go out and buy myself one. 

Leave a Reply

