Book Review

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs

MissPeregrineCover

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (2011) Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #1

Genres: Fantasy, Science Fiction, Young Adult, Mystery, Horror

Format: Paperback

Pages: 352

Reading Time: 13/01/16 – 21/01/16

★★★★☆

*THIS REVIEW DOES CONTAIN SPOILERS*

This creepy and adventure ridden novel captured me initially with its freaky photos of children doing strange, magical things. I loved the idea that I would be able to see what Riggs was describing through photos, but was also hesitant to give some of my imagination a break. The beauty of a book is that everyone has a different image of a character in their head. However this was definitely a good thing when it came to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children! The curiosity from the description of these children seeped through me and I just had to know what they looked like! 

The narrative was simple to follow and brought me back to the stories I used to love. I really enjoyed the element of time travel in the story, it reminded me of Penelope Lively’s A Traveller in Time. The idea that you could jump from the current day to a time loop during the war is brilliant! I love the subtle contrasts, but that this is not the focus of the book. It makes it fresh and interesting, rather than the repetition that time travel stories can be susceptible to.

I would have liked this to focus more on the creepy elements of the story, the cover and a flick through some of the photos suggests that it will be more of a horror. However I would definitely put this novel in the fantasy, adventure category. Not that this is a problem, it fits perfectly into this world and absolutely captures the reader, well at least it captured me as a reader. 

The end of the story was left on a cliffhanger that is making me definitely want to read the sequel! I am going to give myself a break in-between though, partly because I have a lot of other books to read, but also because I think you appreciate books when you take time in-between the stories to have a think about them.  

One thought on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs

Leave a Reply

