Book Review

Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (2013)

Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Format: Kindle eBook

Pages: 445

Reading Time: 26/01/16 – 04/02/16

★★★★☆ (4½)

Fangirl has honestly been a book that I have hovered around the idea of reading for a while now. I was worried that it would be a bit too young for me and didn’t realise the main character was actually going through something I went through nearly three years ago and was in-fact only two years younger than me. So I was wrong to judge this based on it’s target audience, because I can actually relate perfectly. 

Cath is a young, introvert who loves a series similar to Harry Potter. So obviously we got on well! From start to finish this book made me want to get more involved within my fandoms and had me sat on Tumblr more, looking up fan fiction and drawing the characters in my books. So this book has already broadened my horizons of creativity. I also loved the way Cath got so involved in writing Carry On, made me want to write, even if I was working on my dissertation! Yes — this book can make you actually want to write your dissertation! 

Of course I fell in love with Levi’s character, who wouldn’t? He encompass the perfect man we all want, he is just lovely! I won’t say too much because this is a spoiler free review! But yes, read it and read about Levi and Cath and what lovely people they are! 

I am going through a bit of a crisis in humanity stage at the moment, so it was nice to find solitude in this book of people who are like me. I liked the simplicity of the story, it provided with me yet another escape from the real world. 

I would advice this book to anyone who ever feels anxiety, or like they don’t fit in, if you have a deep love for anything fandom related or if you just love to write. I will definitely be reading Carry On at some point this year! 

Praise to Rainbow Rowell. 

Leave a Reply

