Book Review

Roverandom, J. R. R Tolkien

roverandom-new-cover

Roverandom by J. R. R. Tolkien (1998)

Genres: Fantasy, Classics, Children, Adventure

Format: Hardback

Pages: 192

Reading Time: 01/01/16 – 04/01/16

★★★☆☆
This was my first Tolkien story and I found it so enchanting and wonderful. It reminded me of the tales my mum would tell me when I was younger. We would sit together in my book and she would read me magical stories and I would get totally lost in the worlds in front of me.
Tolkien wrote the books in this treasury for his children in the 20’s and they only got published in the late 90’s after his most popular works had been made public. Of course I have seen the Peter Jackson films of Tolkiens amazing creations, but this book has made me want to read them too.
Roverandom follows the story of a dog (named Rover) who annoyed a wizard and so was turned into a toy. Rover goes through many trials to try to be returned to his original form and meets many fantastical beings along the way. The innocence of this story makes it a comfort to read in a world where innocence seems to be being slowly lost.
I would advice this book to any age, it has the repetition you would expect from a children’s story, but not too much that makes it boring. Read this to your children if you have them, I wish I was read it as a child.
Happy Reading 🙂
Leave a Reply

