Book Review

Career of Evil, Robert Galbraith

CareerOfEvil_large

Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith (2015) Cormoran Strike #3

Genres: Crime, Mystery, Thriller

Format: Hardback

Pages: 497

Reading Time: 04/01/16 – 13/01/16

★★★★☆

 

The Career of Evil is the third book under J.K.Rowling’s pseudonym Robert Galbraith, this series follows the works of detective Strike and his assistant Robin. For me, anything written by Jo Rowling is definitely going to end up on my shelf. This one I stole from my mum when she gave me an eager report, saying she couldn’t put it down. So I went into this novel with high hopes.

Honestly, I can say that I didn’t get the immediate hook I relied on from this series, I found it took a while to grab me, with the constant changes in narrative and setting. I like a book with familiarity, so I know where I stand most of the time; not to say I don’t enjoy a good twist, because I most definitely do! I was already used to these characters, so I was glad not to have to read through too much recap of their backstories, like you do in most series. Instead I was able to follow my favourite duo around once more as they tried to solve yet another crime.

If you have read this series before and you have, like me, fallen in love with both Strike and Robin’s characters, then read this new addition! You get to find out more about both characters, particularly Robin, as some questions we have been wondering throughout the first two books are finally answered.

Once the plot thickened and the reader is allowed to get closer to finding out ‘who done it’ I was squirrelled away reading it, with a do not disturb sign on my forehead. So overall, whilst I was left a little uninterested to start with, I found this definitely built up my intrigue and brought out my inner detective. So another good read from Robert Galbraith!

One thought on “Career of Evil, Robert Galbraith

  1. I enjoyed this too but the explanation of him being who he was and why they didn’t figure out quicker (trying to be vague because spoilers) didn’t convince me at all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

